Old School Pro Matusow Wins $750k Playing NBC Heads-up Event

Mike Matusow, one of the most popular “old school” professional poker players, won the 2013 NBC National Heads-up Poker Championship. Having emerged as the champion of the event, Matusow got $750k and 504 POY Points.

To achieve the above, Matusow had to defeat a number of top poker players such as Michael Mizrachi, Barry Greenstien, Scott Siever, and his good friend Phil Hellmuth, another well-known “old school” poker pro. Most of the players in the field, which comprised 64 specially invited players, were young pros.

Elated at having defeated several younger poker pros, Matusow told NBC that all one hears these days from the younger players is that Phil and Mike once used to be good, but are incapable of keeping up with the younger generation, adding that it was good to have Phil at the finals with him.

The tournament, which followed the single elimination format throughout, was converted into the “best of three” format during the final heads-up between Matusow and Hellmuth. While Matusow won the first and the third heads-up matches and became the 8th NBC champion, Hellmuth, who was the NBC champion of 2005, won the second heads-up match and collected the runner-up prize of $300k and 420 POY points.

Stating that he feels “on top of the world,” Matusow said that nothing in the world feels better than winning a poker tournament.

The semi-finalists of the event Scott Seiver, who recently won $2 million at the PCA super high roller tournament, and Joseph Serock won $100k and 294 POY points each. Seiver now occupies the 10th position on the POY leader board.

The quarterfinalists John Hennigan, Daniel Cates, Eugene Katchalov, and Brian Hastings won $50k each. The Round of 16 winners Antonio Esfandiari, Barry Greenstein, Joseph Cheong, Phil Ivey, Tom Dwan, Dan Smith, and David Sands won $24,000 each.